The Overload: North West Says No, Adele Says Hello and Phil Collins Hates Retirement

Welcome to The Overload, my new weekly post where I share pieces of by-now stale pop culture things and news, reheat and comment  on it for your reading pleasure every Friday! On this week’s edition…

NEXT TIME I’M AT BALLET, PLEASE NO PHOTOS

via Giphy/Nylon Magazine

On this episode of Dance Moms: Hollywood, North West took her mother’s advice to heart, put on her big girl Chanel tutu, had herself dragged across a parking lot and told the photographers to stop taking photos en route to her class. I wish I had that much confidence at three. And that tutu.

IT FOLLOWS: A WEIRD-GOOD HORROR MOVIE

I finally had the chance to watch the universally-adored It Follows and man, was it unnervingly weird and kind of kitschy because it drew on classic horror movie characteristics…but it is successfully creepy. Like, I turned off the lights and went to bed and for the first time in about fifteen years, I actually felt scared of the dark creepy. It’s on Netflix Canada for your viewing pleasure, just in time for Halloween.

HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE 

I’m here reporting from the other side to tell you I’m sorry for Adele breaking your YouTube record, Taylor Swift. Except I’m not, because 1) It’s Adele. 2) The video is directed by a Canadian named Xavier Dolan, and how could that be a bad thing 3)Excessive tissue use be damned, I do love this song (though admittedly, am still oddly underwhelmed by it, probably because it could easily be converted into a cheesy 80s ballad.) Also it’s been a week of hearing it/watching parodies/dubsmash videos/references so at least I can say that I’ve tried (and succeeded) to not get tired of this song.

JURASSIC WORLD VS. JURASSIC PARK TRILOGY

It’s no secret that I loved Jurassic World, mainly because of how nostalgia-inducing it was. To further emphasize that (and maybe further anger those who hated the reboot), someone named Pablo Fernandez created a video to compare Jurassic World to the original trilogy. Nothing will beat the original film (and in my books, The Lost World) but you can’t help but be a little amazed about what a dinosaur can accomplish in a wide shot across three decades.

TAKE A LOOK AT PHIL NOW (BECAUSE HE’S COMING BACK)

Phil Collins announced this week that he’s coming out of retirement to release a new album and go on tour. If you were born after 2000, Phil Collins is actress Lilly Collins’ dad and makes the kind of music that would probably make you groan. Well I groaned when I heard him as a 90s baby, so our generations aren’t totally disconnected, but I promise you liking this news will be cool in about twenty years so just do it!

THE WALKING DEAD RENEWED FOR SEASON 7 

via iOS9.com

Duh. But given how great/heartbreaking/anxiety-inducing this season has been so far, my genuine excitement might be stronger than my escalation of commitment with this show. And my tolerance for intestines falling out of bodies.

 

Leave a Reply

