Springspiration: Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad

I eat a lot of salads. Like, a lot. But I tend to use the same ingredients (peppers, cucumber, tomato, onion) in two ways: finely chopped, lettuce-less, like a pico de gallo, or julienned with romaine lettuce. With the weather finally starting to turn around, I decided it was time to change up some of the features of my daily salad. I was inspired by Milestone’s California Spring Salad that I had the last time I had eaten at one of their locations and thought I would recreate it at home, with a few touches.

In addition to the goat cheese, red onions, and strawberries, I used arugula and coriander, a lighter leaf and a strong herb, to support some of the heavier items like the goat cheese and strawberries. I also added orange pepper for a bit of colour and chickpeas for some added protein and a change in texture. My go-to dressing is always olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette with a little bit of black pepper.

The result: an incredibly fresh and fun change in my salad routine. I love the creaminess of the goat cheese and the natural sweet flavour of the strawberries. I look forward to trying out more combinations like this one in the coming months, especially with some seasonal fruits

What are your favourite salads to make at home? I’d love to hear some recommendations. Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Springspiration: Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad

Leave a Reply

