Low Carb/Gluten Free Coconut Flour Cinnamon Muffins

I have discussed my love affair with cinnamon in the past, and I wanted to try to make another cinnamon-centric muffin. Generally speaking, I like working with almond flour more not only because it’s easier, but because it tends to absorb flavours better and is more moist than coconut flour. But since almond flour is expensive and I’ve got a giant bag of coconut flour that needs to be used, I figured I would give Comfy Belly’s recipe for Cinnamon Bun Muffins a go.

As per usual, I substituted erythritol for the honey in the muffin batter. Unfortunately I ran out of erythritol and had to use stevia in the cinnamon topping mixture. Since stevia does not measure out in equal parts to sugar or honey, I just winged it and used nearly three packets of stevia. If you are going to use stevia in place of honey for the topping and prefer a sweeter taste, I would recommend using a little bit more. I liked the balance of my mixture because it was a tad heavier on the cinnamon spice taste, but when it comes to baking, it’s all about personal preference.

Coconut flour absorbs moisture easily, so it needs a lot of liquid in order for the batter to be more similar to regular muffin/cake batter. Since I did not use honey, I added hot water to both the muffin mixture and cinnamon topping. I started off with 1/4 cup of hot water for the batter and kept adding it until I felt the consistency was right. Add a little bit at a time so that you can see how much the flour is absorbing the extra liquid. I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, just for a little added flavour. For the topping, I think that the more liquid-y it is, the easier it will be to swirl into the batter. Mine was initially a little thick so I had some difficulties swirling it into the bottom half of the muffin pan. I add a bit more water for the topping and it really helped to create a beautiful crust with the walnuts.

Although the original recipe yielded twelve muffins, I managed to get ten out of mine. But I loved how they came out.  I suspect that Comfy Belly called it a Cinnamon Bun muffin because of the honey. Mine came out more like a mini-coffee cakes, as it was less sweet and did not have the sticky component that honey may add to the muffin. These muffins are actually a lot more moist than some of the other coconut-flour based goods that I have tried out. I think that may be due to the use of yogurt instead of milk, but I am not entirely sure.

These muffins are great when partnered with some black coffee or even to serve at a tea party. They are small, but packed with great flavour and have a lovely texture. Try them out and let me know how they turned out for you!

Leave a Reply

