Take n’ Bake: Low Carb/Gluten Free Banana Bread

I’ve got this thing against fruit-filled products. Think of, say, yogurt with fruit pieces, jams, cobblers and pies – yes, sorry to say, but even apple pie falls into this category. I know, it’s weird, and it’s even more weird when I try to explain the rational behind my distaste for them. I think it largely has to do with the texture of softened fruit, but I’m still trying to figure it out.

For a long time banana bread was on this list, up until a few years ago when my taste buds started to mature a little bit. I am still not a huge fan of many of the items I listed above, but I’m trying to break out, experience new things, etc. That’s what your 20s are for, right?

Besides, when life gives you ripened bananas, you better make some banana bread.
BananaBread-1

I used this coconut flour-based banana bread recipe from Comfy Belly. This site has tons of great recipes for paleo/low carb/gluten free fans. I was really happy that unlike most coconut flour recipes, using honey/maple syrup was not an absolute necessity. In fact, I avoided adding any sweetener at all.

BananaBread-2

I added 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added walnuts into the mix, but I think I overestimated how much was required in proportion to the actual size of the loaf. It was somewhere between a half cup to a three quarter cup of crushed walnuts, making the bread pretttyyyyy nutty. Yikes!

I think this is the first time since I’ve started baking with coconut flour where the batter did not seize up but actually maintained a more liquid consistency. Unfortunately the amount of batter that I had was not enough for the loaf pan I was using, resulting in a very short loaf.

BananaBread-5

That being said, this loaf came out pretty great!  The bread was moist and light, and goes great with a nice cup of coffee. It could have been a little bit sweeter. When I had tasted the mashed bananas I thought that they were sweet enough and relied on their flavour instead of adding any sweetener. I suppose it’s always a bit of a gamble, but I would rather it be less than overly sweet. Next time I may double the batter for a thicker loaf. I would also consider adding a few chocolate chips for an added layer of enjoyment.

BananaBread-6

Give this recipe a shot this weekend and let me know if you like it as much as I do. Happy Friday!

BananaBread-7

3 thoughts on “Take n’ Bake: Low Carb/Gluten Free Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

