Disconnect In The Sunshine State.

photo 1I’m in Florida for a few days this week and besides being forced into a fast food diet, I am loving it. There is nothing that beats seeing family after a while, especially when you’ve got a little one amidst the ranks who brightens up your life on so many levels. I also really do not mind getting to enjoy the mid thirty (celsius) degree weather, American Netflix and snatching up a few Columbus Day deals. I do hate the lizards, though. That will never change.

My unhealthy dependency on technology also probably won’t change anytime soon. I have always been aware of this, but when I lost my iPhone 4S on Friday night and had to dig up my old 3GS as a [hopefully] temporary replacement phone, I realized the extent of the obsession. It is absolutely terrible how much the resolution of the screen, it’s processor, the limitations of the software, and it’s design irks me. This model came out four years ago but even compared to my 4S, which is now two generations behind in the iPhone world, there seems to be a decade worth of differences. My 3GS is still functional – I can send my texts, catch up on my e-mail, and stay connected through my social media networks – yet somehow, it’s just not the same.

Evolution.

Evolution.

This experience says a lot not only about my own spoiled preferences, but also about how the rapid development of technology and the turnover of softwares and devices can in some ways facilitate disconnection. Maybe it’s more of an internal disconnection with myself as I am still able to do all of the core tasks I did with my 4S, but I just don’t enjoy the user experience as much as I once did.  Perhaps this ssue is more central to areas of the world that are privy to the latest releases and developments within the technology and mobile markets, which can be further magnified by looking at the pockets of consumers who can afford to consistently engage with the various changes. It’s silly, because there are a lot of things to praise about four year old smart phones within the right context. I am curious as to how sustainable the rapidness of modern technology research and development will be in the years to come. Will there be a cap at some point? Does  it create more disparities between regions that are not major players or markets for this industry and those that are? Will R&D become more focused on cost-effective solutions to prevent disparities? Perhaps more companies will use an iPhone 5C-type of strategy to bridge the gaps, but costs and affordability will still be an issue if technology keeps evolving at the rate that it’s evolving at now.

So much to consider.

#TeamDaryl

#TeamDaryl

Let’s turn to other fun tidbits. I recently binge-watched AMC’s The Walking Dead over the course of four days and finished it just in time for it’s fourth season premiere which scored AMC 16.1 million viewers. Like other AMC properties, it’s a great character-driven show, and it has given me a much clearer picture about the network’s offering on a whole. I have started to rethink some of the ideas I presented in my post, The Curious Case of AMC, where I discussed AMC’s development strategy and what my thoughts are on their future. After watching it I realized how critical it is to AMC and am now excited at the prospect of a spin-off.

Just having a Shrek of a time here talking about The Walking Dead.

Just having a Shrek of a time here chatting about pop culture things.

Regardless, if you haven’t watched it yet and can handle some really gross gore, I would highly suggest checking it out.

It’s also nice to know that I am not the only crazy television watcher in this world. Anthony Hopkins recently reached out to Bryan Cranston to praise him and the other cast and crew members on Breaking Bad. In the letter he wrote, “Thank you. That kind of work/artistry is rare, and when, once in a while, it occurs, as in this epic work, it restores confidence.” That is a lot coming from an accomplished actor like Anthony Hopkins who has seen the industry go through so many different phases. It is also nice to see someone who is primarily involved in the film industry applaud the creative work being completed on television. Although television does have its designated prestigious awards and buzz, I think it sometimes falls into the shadow of film simply because of the emphasis we place on box office scores, which can be unfortunate given the strong quality of story telling that can be experienced from the comfort of your home. You can read the entire letter here.

Once you’ve read it then join me in giggling over how much of a fanboy he is…and also sit with me to think about how odd it is that we can identify with Hannibal Lecter.

Finally, I simply must insist that you watch this video of Tom Hiddleston hanging out with Cookie Monster. If that’s not a cute overload, then check out the video below where he does an impression of Cookie Monster (around the 1:30 mark) so you can once again join me in a giggle fest of sorts. You can catch Tom in the upcoming sequel to 2011’s Thor, Thor: The Dark World, out in international markets on October 30th, and in North America on November 8th.

If you’re a fellow Canuck, then I hope you had a wonderful long weekend and I wish you a belated Happy Thanksgiving. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

